2020 NC Child Hunger Hero Awards

The NC Child Hunger Hero Awards are No Kid Hungry NC's way of showing some love to the everyday heroes who make healthy meals possible for kids. From cafeteria staff to community volunteers, from educators to elected officials, it takes a village to do this work.

More than 100 people in more than 50 counties submitted to the first ever call for NC Child Hunger Hero nominations in the fall of 2020. People in any role and contributing to any method of fighting child hunger in North Carolina were eligible. To determine the finalists, each nominee was ranked by No Kid Hungry staff based on the description provided by their nomination.

The Hero Award Winners

The 14 award winners stand out because of their passion, creativity, and tenacity when it comes to fighting child hunger.

These Heroes were celebrated at the 2020 NC Child Hunger Leaders Conference, during a ceremony with special presenters First Lady of NC Kristin Cooper and Congressman David Price, and emcee Gerald Owens of WRAL-TV.

Sil Ganzo_Crop
Rosemary and Allen Stimpson_Group
Avery Pickett_Crop

The Nominees

All of the Hero Award nominees deserve to be celebrated for their hard work and dedication. Be sure to find the Heroes from your area, and continue the celebration by sharing the good news with mayors, town councils, school boards, and others.